Metropolis BC

Research Domains

Citizenship and Social, Cultural and Civic Integration
Oliver Schmidtke, University of Victoria ofs@uvic.ca

Canada's immigration program, like its multicultural approach to inclusion, is designed to bring benefits to Canadian society as well as an offer of a better life to immigrants, refugees, and their immediate families. Accordingly, this policy-research priority looks at the social and cultural effects of immigration and diversity on Canada and seeks to determine the extent to which there are risks to societal well-being, to full participation of the members of these groups as citizens, and to the cohesion of Canadian society overall. In this respect, this research priority addresses integration as a complex interplay of social, cultural and civic components in a two-way street approach to successful and equitable inclusion into the fabric of Canadian society.

View publications in this domain

Senior Researchers:

Douglas Baer (Sociology, University of Victoria) baer@uvic.ca
Francisco Beltrán (Inst. for European Studies, UBC) pbeltranad@gmail.com
Pieter Bevelander (IMER/Malmö University, Sweden) pieter.bevelander@mah.se
Irene Bloemraad (Dept. of Sociology, UC Berkeley) bloemr@berkeley.edu
Paul Bramadat ( Ctr. for Studies in Religion & Society, UVic) bramadat@uvic.ca
Catherine Ann Cameron (Psychology, UBC) acameron@psych.ubc.ca
Jennifer Chan (Education, UBC) jennifer.chan@ubc.ca
Shirley Chau (School of Social Work, UBC-Okanagan) shirley.chau@ubc.ca
Sasha Colby (English, SFU Surrey) scolby@sfu.ca
Avigail Eisenberg (Political Science, UVic) avigaile@uvic.ca
Anne George (Faculty of Medicine, UBC) ageorge@cw.bc.ca
Dan Hiebert (Geography, UBC) dhiebert@geog.ubc.ca
Roumi Ilieva (Education, SFU) rilieva@sfu.ca
Marianne Jacquet (Education, SFU) mjacquet@sfu.ca
Richard Johnston (Political Science, UBC) rjohnston@politics.ubc.ca
Shuyu Kong (Humanities/Asia-Canada Program, SFU) shuyu_kong@sfu.ca
Daniel Lai (Faculty of Social Work, University of Calgary) dlai@ucalgary.ca
Sharon Lee (Sociology, UVic) sml@uvic.ca
Daničle Moore (Education, SFU) dmoore@sfu.ca
Kamala Nayar (Asian Studies, Kwantlen Polytechnic University) Kamala.Nayar@kwantlen.ca
Lynda Phillips (Child & Youth Care Counselling, Douglas College) phillipsly@douglascollege.ca
Cecile Sabatier (Education, SFU) sabatier@sfu.ca
Leonie Sandercock (School of Community and Regional Planning, UBC) leonies@interchange.ubc.ca
Michele Schmidt (Education, SFU) mschmidt@sfu.ca
Farah Shroff (Faculty of Medicine, UBC) fms@ece.ubc.ca
Robert Sweet (Emeritus, Lakehead University) rasweet@lakeheadu.ca
Maria Adamuti-Trache (Education, UBC) mtrache@interchange.ubc.ca
Gerry Veenstra (Sociology, UBC) veenstra@interchange.ubc.ca
Rima Wilkes (Sociology, UBC) wilkesr@interchange.ubc.ca

Junior Researchers:

Daniel Ahadi (Communication, SFU) sahadi@sfu.ca
Joey Chopra (School of Public Policy, SFU) jchopra@sfu.ca
Lisi Feng (School of Community & Regional Planning, UBC) feng_lisi@hotmail.com
Lacey Forsyth (Sociology & Anthropology, SFU) laceyb@sfu.ca
Monique Gagne (Faculty of Education, UBC) moniquehgagne@hotmail.com
Amanda Grochowich (Community & Regional Planning, UBC) amanda.grochowich@gmail.com
Alejandro Hernandez (Sociology, SFU) ahernand@sfu.ca
Carla Hilario ( School of Nursing, UBC) CHilario@bccancer.bc.ca
Zhao Jing (Sociology, UBC) francie1980@hotmail.com
Niels Klabunde (Sociology, Humboldt University, Berlin) nklabunde@gmx.de
Joshua Labove (Geography, SFU) jlabove@sfu.ca
Seonok Lee (Sociology, UBC) madflora@gmail.com
Maryam Nabavi (Educational Studies, UBC) mnabavi@interchange.ubc.ca
Yolande Pottie-Sherman (Geography, UBC) absolut_yo@hotmail.com
Sarah Przedpelska (Geography, UBC) sarahprz@geog.ubc.ca
Corey Robinson (Political Science, UVic) coreyjay@uvic.ca
Widyarini Sumartojo (Geography, SFU) wsumarto@sfu.ca
Flavia Tyemi Yanase (Sociology, UVIC) fyanase@uvic.ca
Sherry Yu (Communication, SFU) sherryy@sfu.ca
Olivia Zhang ( Education, SFU) zza28@sfu.ca
Latest news
Working Papers
 
Latest news
Metropolis Sites