Metropolis BC

Research Domains

Economic and Labour Market Integration
David Jacks, SFU, djacks@sfu.ca

What are the effects of immigration on the labour market outcomes of native-born Canadians? What are the barriers faced by immigrants in successfully integrating into the Canadian workforce? And what forces are at work that could explain the persistent earnings gap among the various ethnic groups of Canadian society? Questions such as these represent some of the central concerns of this domain. At the same time, this domain is pressing ahead and fostering innovative research in areas such as the role of education versus experience in fostering integration, the benefits to Canadian society from immigration and an increasingly diverse population, and the interaction of education policy, immigration, and social networks.

View publications in this domain

Senior Researchers:

Luis L.K. Aguiar (Sociology, Okanagan Univ College) luis.aguiar@ubc.ca
Fernando Aragon (Economics, SFU) faragons@sfu.ca
Jasmina Arifovic (Economics, SFU) arifovic@sfu.ca
Francisco Beltrán (Inst. for European Studies, UBC) pbeltranad@gmail.com
Don DeVoretz (Economics, SFU) devoretz@sfu.ca
Barry Edmonston (Sociology, UVic) be@uvic.ca
Jane Friesen (Economics, SFU) friesen@sfu.ca
Judy Fudge (Faculty of Law, UVic) jafudge@uvic.ca
Dominique M. Gross (Graduate Public Policy Program, SFU) dgross@sfu.ca
Peter Hall (Urban Studies, SFU) pvhall@sfu.ca
Ross Hickey (Economics, UBC-Okanagan) ross.hickey@ubc.ca
Daniel Hiebert (Geography, UBC) dhiebert@geog.ubc.ca
Kurt Huebner (Institute for European Studies, UBC) kurt.huebner@ubc.ca
Alexander Karaivanov (Economics, SFU) akaraiva@sfu.ca
Anke Kessler (Economics, SFU) akessler@sfu.ca
Brian Krauth (Economics, SFU) bkrauth@sfu.ca
Lucia Lo (Geography, York University) lucialo@yorku.ca
Fiona MacPhail (Economics, University of Northern B.C.) macphail@unbc.ca
Steeve Mongrain (Economics, SFU) mongrain@sfu.ca
Arti Nanavati (Economics, M.S. University of Baroda, India) artinanavati@gmail.com
Philip Oreopoulos (Economics, U. of Toronto) philip.oreopoulos@utoronto.ca
Krishna Pendakur (Economics, SFU) pendakur@sfu.ca
Ravi Pendakur (Public & Int'l Affairs, University of Ottawa) pendakur@uottawa.ca
Geraldine Pratt (Geography, UBC) gpratt@geog.ubc.ca
Nicolas Schmitt (Economics, SFU) schmitt@sfu.ca
Arthur Sweetman (School of Policy Studies, Queen's) arthur.sweetman@queensu.ca
Simon Woodcock (Economics, SFU) swoodcoc@sfu.ca
Daniyal Zuberi (Sociology, UBC) daniyal.zuberi@ubc.ca

Junior Researchers:

Aarij Bashir (International Studies, SFU) abashir@sfu.ca
Michele Battisti (Economics, SFU) battisti@sfu.ca
Leslie Cheung (Public Policy, SFU) leslie.cheung@mail.mcgill.ca
Giuseppe Danese (Economics, SFU) gda11@sfu.ca
Michelle Drenker (Geography, UBC) michelle_drenker@yahoo.com
Mei Lan Fang (Health Sciences, SFU) mlfang@sfu.ca
Amanda Grochowich (Community & Regional Planning, UBC) amanda.grochowich@gmail.com
Mohsen Javdani Haji (Economics, SFU) mjavdani@sfu.ca
Seonok Lee (Sociiology, UBC) madflora@gmail.com
Conrad Malilay (Public Policy, SFU) cmalilay@sfu.ca
Maureen Mendoza (Community and Regional Planning, UBC) mmendoza86@gmail.com
Geraldina Polanco (Sociology, UBC) geraldinapolanco@gmail.com
Adriana Paz Ramirez (UBC) adripaz7@interchange.ubc.ca
Robert Russo (Faculty of Law, UBC) rmrusso@gmail.com
Lawrence Santiago (Geography, UBC) mlawrencesantiago@gmail.com
Daniela Tuchel (Royal Roads University) danielatuchel@gmail.com
Xuefei (Sophie) Wang (Economics, SFU) xuefeiw@sfu.ca
Haimin Zhang ( Economics, UBC) haimin@interchange.ubc.ca
Nathan Zhang ( Economics, UVic)nmzhang@gmail.com
Latest news
Working Papers
 
Latest news
Metropolis Sites