Metropolis BC

Research Domains

Housing and Neighbourhoods
Carlos Teixeira, UBC-O, carlos.teixeira@ubc.ca

The relationship between access to affordable housing and residential concentrations of newcomers and minorities on the one hand, and successful integration and inclusion on the other has become more pronounced in recent years. Housing and neighbourhoods impact upon and help to shape our social networks, access to employment opportunities, participation in and access to public spaces, the nature and availability of social services, as well as general feelings of safety and security, among others. In this domain, we seek to better understand the relationships between housing, neighbourhoods and integration into Canadian society.

View publications in this domain

Senior Researchers:

Luis L.K. Aguiar (Sociology, UBC-Okanagan) luis.aguiar@ubc.ca
Harald Bauder (Geography, Ryerson University) hbauder@ryerson.ca
David Edgington (Geography, UBC) edgingtn@geog.ubc.ca
Amin Ghaziani (Sociology, UBC) Amin.Ghaziani@ubc.ca
Jennifer Hyndman (Geography, York University) jhyndman@yorku.ca
Nathan Lauster (Sociology, UBC) nlauster@interchange.ubc.ca
David Ley (Geography, UBC) dley@geog.ubc.ca
Wei Li (Asian Pacific American Studies Program, Arizona State U.) Wei.Li@asu.edu
Eugene McCann (Geography, SFU) emccann@sfu.ca
Anita Palepu (Faculty of Medicine, UBC) anita@sm.hivnet.ubc.ca
Leonie Sandercock (Planning, UBC) leonies@interchange.ubc.ca
Heather Smith (Geography & Earth Sciences, UNNC. Charlotte) heatsmit@uncc.edu
Margaret Walton-Roberts (Geography, Wilfrid Laurier U.) mwalton@wlu.ca

Junior Researchers:

Lisi Feng (School of Community & Regional Planning, UBC) feng_lisi@hotmail.com
Pablo Mendez (Geography, UBC) pmendez@interchange.ubc.ca
Kathy Sherrell (Geography, UBC) kathy_s@interchange.ubc.ca
Jessica Stuart (School of Community & Regional Planning, UBC) jessica_stuart@live.com
Ren Thomas (Community & Regional Planning, UBC) rae.thomas@gmail.com
Latest news
Working Papers
 
Latest news
Metropolis Sites